Family, Food, post partum, Stay at Home Mom, Uncategorized

Simple and Delicious Inside out Chicken Enchilada

I absolutely love chicken enchiladas. I have been making them for at least half of my life and was probably one of the first things I started cooking. Since I love enchiladas I wanted to make it a bit different. This is a great twist to the usual rolled up chicken enchiladas. And its super simple. You can either use a slower cooker, which I do not have, or you can put it in the oven like I did. I have to say, I am afraid of raw and/or under-cooked chicken so that is why i cooked it longer. I added pictures below of everything.  I hope you get to make this recipe, its truly delicious.

 

Ingredients:

3 lbs (4 chicken fresh chicken breasts)

2 19oz cans of green Chile enchilada sauce

12 Corn tortillas

2 cups Shredded cheese ( I used Sharp cheddar cheese)

More shredded cheese to add after cooking, if you like

Corn ( I cut the corn off of 4 of our left over corn on the cob)

1 can Black Beans

1 can olives

Sour Cream

 

 

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

I used a dutch oven (Pioneer Woman Brand) and put 2 cans of green Chile sauce in with the chicken breasts. Pop it in the preheated oven for 1 1/2 hours. You can always check after the hour to see if the chicken is done. I cooked it longer to make sure it was not under cooked.

While the chicken is in the oven I prepped the food. Cut the corn off the cob or drain the corn in the can, drain the black beans, cut up olives and cut corn tortillas into whatever shape you like. I stacked them on top of each other and cut them. That’ll save you a bit of time.

Take the cooked chicken out of the oven. Take one chicken breast out at a time and shred the chicken with two forks. Put the shredded chicken back into the green Chile sauce and add all of the other ingredients. Stir ingredients until just mixed. Put it back into the oven and cook for 30 more minutes.

Take out and put in a bowl. Add more cheese if you like and top with sour cream.


 

Live Simple

 

2 thoughts on “Simple and Delicious Inside out Chicken Enchilada”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.